The paralysis of shyness

It’s funny that I maintain a blog all about amazing challenges, because my biggest challenge is something so small and mundane: shyness.

Overcoming shyness is a challenge that alludes me to this day. That shyness which prevents me from picking up the phone for a conversation that others would find so easy. The shyness which makes me run far away, rather than confront issues directly.

Yes, so I am one of those awkward souls who sits behind the page, typing away, hoping never to emerge into the limelight to speak and be heard. This shyness is like glue: every time you nearly achieve something, the social anxiety pulls you back into your shell, circumventing all your dreams. It is the paralysis of shyness.

The phone call you were meant to make, but which, in the end, you ran away from. The conversation you were meant to hold. The social gathering you were meant to attend, but which, in the end, you made excuses to avoid.

So yes, this is my great challenge. Not obstacle course races. Not mud run challenges. Not running a marathon. Just good old, simple, mundane shyness. And consistently I fail.

I was going to make that phone call, but in the end I just passed it on to the confident ones. The story of my life.

2 thoughts on “The paralysis of shyness

  1. As salaamu alaikum sis,

    Shyness is a rarity that should never be something to be ashamed of, it’s a beautiful trait to have as a Muslim/ah. Never force yourself to be less shy to please others, usually the loud ones are the most insecure anyway. Your shyness is your pride, you don’t have to act a certain way, you’re just being you.

    I can be really shy, too but I have learned to accept it and embrace it. Although, there is a thin line between shyness and missing out on life. If you feel that you should do something and that something will be good for you, just ask Allah to make it easy for you, to give you the confidence to do it & He will.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am also a prisoner to shyness. I can totally relate to your post. The amount of energy it takes to overcome it on a daily basis is exhausting. It’s so much easier to just give in to it. Why is it so hard??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

