Fatima toughens up for Muscular Dystrophy UK

Fatima Gouveia from Winchester writes:

I’ve never done a challenge before and for those of you who know me, you will be shocked to hear that I have recently joined our local gym……this is how serious and dedicated I am to do the challenge but most importantly to raise funds.

I lost my brother Dino 12 years ago to Spinal Muscular Dystrophy. As I watched him suffer, without complaining, I was struck by how indiscriminate the illness is and how helpless we remain in so many cases.

I want to do the Tough Mudder challenge to honour his extraordinary bravery in the face of the cruellest of illnesses and to support the vital research into finding a cure.

While the training is tough it is such a fantastic opportunity to raise a lot of money for a great cause and I will be inspired by the incredible courage and dignity shown by my brother right to the end. The cause is Muscular Dystrophy UK. Please dig deep and donate now. We can make a difference.

Tough Mudder is a team-oriented 10-12 mile (18-20 km) obstacle course designed to test physical strength and mental grit. Tough Mudder puts camaraderie over finisher rankings and is not a timed race but a team challenge that allows participants to experience exhilarating, yet safe, world-class obstacles they won’t find anywhere else.

To support Fatima, please visit her fundraising page.

 

Leave a Reply

