Challenges & Obstacles

When I first set out my proposal for a ladies-only obstacle course fundraising challenge event, I honestly had no idea how hard it would be.  Talk about obstacles! Talk about a challenge!

1) I never thought it would be this difficult to find a suitable venue for a ladies-only event. Women-only boot camps are advertised all around the country — but with male instructors! I think they’ve missed a trick there. How hard can it be to provide facilities for women, staffed by women? Very hard, apparently.

2) But, secondly, I never thought it would be this hard to get this idea accepted. One charity is looking into putting on an event like this, if they can sort out the logistics (see 1) – and that should be enough for me (and it is).

But it would have been nice if other charities could at least have acknowledged the concept, to give some feedback. Perhaps it’s my fault: my approach was all wrong. I admit it: I was cowardly, thinking I could just pass the idea on to others, and then walk away. It really needed a strong individual to say here is my idea, let’s do it. But I’m not that person.

But in truth, perhaps the idea was just too off-the-wall for most, who would rather follow the crowd: mountain climbs have proved successful, so everyone is doing them; charity dinners are always popular, so everyone is doing them. Fair enough, they are charities after all, and they need to focus on that which brings them maximum benefit, with as little effort and expense as possible.

3) I never thought I’d be so disappointed by the lack of interest. I thought I was onto a winner with this concept, but now I just say to myself: what was I thinking?

I guess to get anything done in this community, you have to be Someone. Not a nobody like me. You have to have a Name, to be Known. Otherwise nobody takes you seriously and they don’t care what you have to say. Like they say, it’s not what you know but who you know.

All in all, it is a great obstacle challenge, but not as I intended it.

Leave a Reply

